Contacts: how to manage a contact group

Support Center > About SecureVideo Features

Published 12/24/2021 at 3:42am UTC

Page viewed 5383 times

Details

This support article illustrates how to create, edit, or delete a contact group (a group of contacts that can make it easier to schedule sessions with the same group of participants).

 

You may also be interested in:

 

Answer

 

Create a contact group

1. a) If you are creating a contact group for yourself, click on the profile icon in the upper right-hand corner, and select "My Contacts" from the drop-down menu.

Arrow pointing at the profile menu and then My Contacts

 

b) If you are creating a contact group on a host's behalf, click on the "Scheduling" tab at the top of the page.

"Scheduling" tab to the right of "Videoconference" tab

 

Click on the "Contacts" button next to the host you are creating the contact group for.

Arrow pointing at "Contacts" button

 

 

2. Use the "Manage Contact Groups" button at the top or bottom of the page.

Arrow pointing at "Manage Contact Groups" button

 

3. Use the "Create New Group" button at the bottom of the page.

Arrow pointing at "Create new Group"

 

4. Enter the name of the group. (This will appear in the dropdown when scheduling a session, so it should be recognizable and unique.) Optionally, you can add a description that will appear on the contact group page for future reference.

New group fields

 

5. Once the group has been created, use the "Add Contact" button at the bottom of the next page.

Arrow pointing at "Add Contact" button

 

6. Start typing the name of a contact or organization user to select that person from the autofill, and then click "Add".

  • If the participant has an SMS number on their contact record (or, if an organization user, has a mobile number in their profile and settings to receive SMS invites), then text message invites will be preferentially used.
  • If the participant does not have an SMS number on their contact record or user profile, then e-mail invites and reminders will be used.
  • If there is no contact information for a contact, then they will not appear as an option to add to a contact group.

Auto fill before selection       Arrow pointing at the Add button

 

 

7. When scheduling a session in the future, you can enter the name of the group to add the group on the participant pop up. This will add all members of the group to the session.

  • You can also start typing "group" to bring up a list of all contact groups.

Scheduling window

 

 

Edit the members of a contact group

1. a) If you are editing a contact group for yourself, click on the profile icon in the upper right-hand corner, and select "My Contacts" from the drop-down menu.

Arrow pointing at the profile menu and then My Contacts

 

b) If you are editing a contact group on a host's behalf, click on the "Scheduling" tab at the top of the page.

"Scheduling" tab to the right of "Videoconference" tab

 

Click on the "Contacts" button next to the host you are creating the contact group for.

Arrow pointing at "Contacts" button

 

 

2. Use the "Manage Contact Groups" button at the top or bottom of the page.

Arrow pointing at "Manage Contact Groups" button

 

3. Click the "Edit" button next to the name of the contact group you would like to edit.

Arrow pointing at Edit button

 

 

4. You can edit the name or description of the group by editing the text directly. (Changes will save automatically.)

You can also add additional members by clicking "Add Contact", or remove members by clicking the "Remove" button next to their name.

Arrows pointing at different actions

 

 

Delete a contact group

1. a) If you are deleting a contact group for yourself, click on the profile icon in the upper right-hand corner, and select "My Contacts" from the drop-down menu.

Arrow pointing at the profile menu and then My Contacts

 

b) If you are deleting a contact group on a host's behalf, click on the "Scheduling" tab at the top of the page.

"Scheduling" tab to the right of "Videoconference" tab

 

Click on the "Contacts" button next to the host you are creating the contact group for.

Arrow pointing at "Contacts" button

 

 

2. Use the "Manage Contact Groups" button at the top or bottom of the page.

Arrow pointing at "Manage Contact Groups" button

 

3. Click the "Delete" button next to the contact group you wish to delete.

Arrow pointing at the Delete button

 

 

This article was last reviewed by our Support team on December 23, 2021.